Employee Gifting Platforms: 9 Tools Compared
Employee gifting platforms compared: nine tools, what each publishes on price, who keeps the money for unclaimed gifts, and the IRS rule on gift cards.
Employee Gifting Platforms: 9 Tools Compared
Seven of these nine publish a rate and six can be started without paying for software at all, which makes this a rare category where the tool is the cheap part. This compares all nine on published price, shipping, address handling, and what happens to the money when nobody opens the gift
The first work anniversary gift I ever sent went to an apartment the person had moved out of four months earlier. I had the address because it was on a form from their first week, and nobody updates a form. The package came back, the anniversary passed, and the thing I had spent an hour choosing turned into an apology.
That is the actual problem this category solves, and most comparisons skip straight past it to feature grids. Sending a gift to an employee is easy. Knowing where they live, keeping that address current, not making a colleague hand over a home address, and remembering the date at all: those are the parts that fail.
The commercial picture here is also the opposite of what you find in most HR software. Seven of the nine platforms below publish a rate, six can be started without paying for software at all, and the tool is almost never the expensive half. This page compares all nine on price, shipping, address handling, and the question nobody asks until it is too late: what happens to the money when a gift is never opened.
What an employee gifting platform actually is
An employee gifting platform sends a physical gift, a choice of gifts, or branded merchandise to a named person, usually by email or text so the recipient supplies their own delivery address. The software handles selection, fulfillment, and tracking; you pay for the gift.
The most common mistake in this category is buying the wrong thing entirely. Gifting and recognition software get sold with the same vocabulary and solve different problems, and the pricing models tell you which is which.
| Gifting platform | Recognition software | |
|---|---|---|
| What it sends | A specific gift, a choice of gifts, or branded swag | Points that redeem against a rewards catalog |
| Who starts it | An admin, a manager, or an automation tied to a date | Anyone on the team, continuously |
| How it is priced | Mostly per gift, with a free or cheap platform tier | Mostly per employee per month, often with a minimum |
| What a quiet month costs | Nothing, because you only pay when you send | The full subscription, whether or not anyone posts |
| Where it fits | Milestones, welcomes, holidays, and one-off thanks | An everyday habit of visible praise |
| What it cannot do | Build a habit of noticing good work | Put something physical in somebody’s hands |
One naming overlap is worth separating out. Corporate gifting also covers client and prospect gifting, which is a sales motion with different rules, different budgets, and a different tax treatment. Sendoso and Postal sit mostly on that side of the line and appear here because employee sending is frequently bolted onto the same contract.
9 employee gifting platforms at a glance
Sorted by shape: send-by-message platforms first, then boxes and swag, then the two quote-only products. Read the Priced per column before the price itself, because a per-sender rate and a per-box subscription behave nothing alike as you grow.
| Platform | What it is for | Entry price | Priced per | Publishes a rate | Where it fits |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Goody | Sending without asking for an address | Free, then $20 per user monthly | Sender seat | Any size | |
| Gifted.co | Paying the gift price and nothing else | No platform fee | Funding fees only | Small to mid | |
| Snappy | A curated set the recipient picks from | Free, then $2,000 a year | Flat annual plan | Small to enterprise | |
| Loop & Tie | Recipient choice with credit back | Free, then $500 a year | Seats and teams | Small to mid | |
| Caroo | Care packages and anniversary kits | Gift price plus $6.99 shipping | Per gift, or $1,398 a year | Small to mid | |
| SnackNation | Snacks for an office or a remote team | From $22 a box | Box subscription | Small to mid | |
| SwagUp | Branded swag with storage and kitting | Free, then $80 a month | Membership tier | Small to large | |
| Sendoso | Sending run as a program across teams | Quote only | Not published | Mid to enterprise | |
| Postal | Offline sending tied to a CRM | Quote only | Not published | Mid to enterprise |
How we evaluated these platforms
Gift catalogs all look good in a screenshot, so we tested the operational terms instead: what the software costs, what shipping costs, who touches the address, and who keeps the money when a gift goes unclaimed.
Send-by-message gifting platforms
Four products that deliver a gift to an inbox or a phone and let the recipient handle their own address. This is the right shape for a distributed team, and all four have a free or no-fee entry point.
Goody is the shortest distance between deciding to send something and it being on its way. The Starter plan is free forever and covers unlimited sending in the US, UK, and Canada, sending to more than 1,000 recipients at once, and branded swag on demand, scheduling, and thank-you tracking. The vendor states that no address is required and that recipients enter their own shipping information.
The paid tiers are priced per sender rather than per employee, which is the right shape for this category and the wrong shape if five managers all want to send. Pro at $20 per user monthly on annual billing adds gift cards from hundreds of brands, international sending to more than 140 countries, and custom branding. The quoted Team plan is where the parts a growing company actually needs sit: budget allocation, automated gifts for birthdays, anniversaries, and onboarding, and connections to more than 200 HR platforms per the vendor.
Gifted.co is the only platform here that charges nothing for the software and explains why: the company states that it earns a percentage from its brand partners, so you pay the face value of the gift and no more. Funding by ACH or wire is free, funding by credit card costs 3 percent, and sending in another currency costs 5 percent, which are the only fees published anywhere on the page.
It also publishes the answer most vendors leave blank. Per the vendor, an unclaimed gift can be canceled free within 72 hours of sending, and canceled at any point within two years for 75 percent of the value back into your account. Unlimited campaigns, automations, budgeting, and native HR system connections are all included at no cost, which makes this the cheapest way to automate work anniversary and birthday sends that I know of.
Snappy builds the whole experience around choosing. You pick a curated collection or build your own, the recipient opens it and selects what they want, and per the vendor no mailing address is needed because the unwrapping happens in email, text, or a chat tool. The Essential plan is listed at $0 a year with unlimited users and teams, delivery to more than 176 countries, automated campaigns, and branded swag with no inventory commitment, which is a strikingly complete free tier.
Elevated at $2,000 a year is the first paid step and buys a branded company store, connections to more than 40 HR systems, chat tool notifications, and a branded digital unwrapping experience. Enterprise adds custom kits, bulk orders with inventory management, and, per the vendor, up to six months of free swag storage. What no public page states is what happens to the budget behind a gift that is never claimed, and at this price point that is the question worth asking first.
Loop & Tie publishes the clearest answer in this comparison to the unclaimed gift question: when a gift expires or is canceled, its value goes back into your account as credit you can spend on the next one. Nothing is stranded, and you are not arguing with a rep about a refund six months later.
The pricing ladder is steep and metered. Free covers one seat with $5 flat-rate shipping on each gift, Essentials at $500 a year covers three seats and three teams with shipping included, and Premium at $5,000 adds gift cards, print on demand, branded merchandise, global fulfillment, and a white-labeled experience. Read the add-on list before signing: an extra seat is $250 a year, an extra team $500, a company storefront $500, an HRIS connection $1,500, and managed services $2,500 a year or $500 per project.
Care packages and curated boxes
Two products for companies that want to send a physical box rather than a digital choice. The trade is emotional weight against logistics: a box that arrives assembled lands harder than a link, and costs more to move.
Caroo sells the thing a screen cannot deliver. The published catalog runs from recipient-choice gifts at $25 and $50 through a wellness box at $45 to individually priced items, each with $6.99 flat-rate global shipping and no contract attached, which makes it the easiest product here to try once and abandon.
Caroo+ at $1,398 a year removes shipping on eligible physical gifts and unlocks tiered anniversary programs, which is the automation a company reaches for once service milestones start arriving monthly. The arithmetic is worth doing before you buy it: $1,398 is exactly 200 shipping charges at $6.99, so the subscription pays back only if you are sending at that volume and your gifts sit on the eligible list.
SnackNation is the outlier in this comparison and belongs here because it is what small companies often buy when somebody says "do something nice for the team." It is a subscription rather than a gifting platform: remote employee boxes start at $22 and in-office plans at $219, shipping is free across the lower 48, and Alaska and Hawaii add $50 a box.
Treat it as a recurring perk and it works well, because a box that turns up every month is a rhythm rather than a gesture. Treat it as recognition and it fails, since nothing that arrives on a schedule for everyone can mark one person's contribution. Office pricing is quoted rather than listed, and the subscription renews month to month once the initial commitment ends, so check the term before you sign.
Branded swag with warehousing attached
Branded merchandise is a different business from gifting, and the clearest sign is where the money goes: into production runs, storage, and kitting rather than into individual sends. One product here does that job properly.
SwagUp is a swag operation with software attached rather than the reverse, and per the vendor the platform itself is included in every tier. What the membership buys is storage rates and service level: a pack costs $5.00 to store on Basic and $2.50 on Gold, a medium item such as a bottle or a shirt is $1.00 on Basic and $0.50 on Gold, and Platinum removes storage charges entirely. Storage is billed every six months.
The membership ladder runs $80, $400, and $800 a month on the annual plan paid monthly, and paying for the year up front saves $228, $1,188, or $2,388 respectively. The honest framing for a small company is that this is the right product for a repeatable new hire welcome kit and the wrong one for a birthday, because branded merchandise is a uniform rather than a gift.
Enterprise sending platforms
Two products that rank heavily for gifting searches, publish no rate, and are built for sending run as a company-wide program across sales, marketing, and HR at once. Both are legitimate; neither is aimed at a company of thirty.
Sendoso is the most established name in corporate sending and the most complete platform in this comparison, which is precisely why it is the wrong first purchase for a small employer. Four tiers are named on the pricing page and none carries a number; per the vendor, pricing is flexible and set by your size, goals, and global presence.
The capability is real: sending at scale, across regions, with warehousing and revenue system integrations behind it. But the problem it solves is coordination between teams that each send hundreds of items, and a company sending forty employee gifts a year does not have that problem. Several of the free tiers on this page cover that volume without a call.
Postal sits in the same segment as Sendoso and shares its commercial posture: a First Class tier and an enterprise offering are described, a free trial is advertised, and no figure appears next to either. Unlimited sends and integrations are listed as plan contents rather than priced features.
For employee gifting specifically, the thing to weigh is whether you want your appreciation program living inside a tool built around a sales pipeline. It is a reasonable fit for a company already running client gifting at volume and an odd one for a team whose entire use case is twelve birthdays and a holiday round.
What these platforms cost for a year
Twelve months of platform fee runs from $0 to $9,600 across this list, and six of the nine products have a route in at zero. The table below converts every published rate into a year so a monthly membership and an annual plan can be read side by side.
| Plan | Published rate | Platform cost for a year | What sits on top |
|---|---|---|---|
| Goody Starter | Free forever | $0 | The price of each gift, with no seat fee |
| Goody Pro | $20 per user monthly, billed annually | $240 | The price of each gift, per person who sends |
| Gifted.co | No platform fee | $0 | Face value, 3 percent to fund by card, 5 percent abroad |
| Snappy Essential | $0 per year | $0 | The price of each gift |
| Snappy Elevated | $2,000 per year | $2,000 | The gifts, plus premium swag and inventory options |
| Loop & Tie Free | $0 per year, one seat | $0 | The gift, plus $5 flat-rate shipping on each one |
| Loop & Tie Essentials | $500 per year, three seats | $500 | The gift; shipping is included at this tier |
| Loop & Tie Premium | $5,000 per year, unlimited seats | $5,000 | The gift; each integration is $1,500 a year on top |
| Caroo, pay per gift | No subscription | $0 | The gift, plus $6.99 flat-rate global shipping |
| Caroo+ | $1,398 per year | $1,398 | The gift; shipping is free on eligible physical items |
| SnackNation remote boxes | From $22 a box | None stated | The boxes: $2,640 a year for ten people at one a month |
| SwagUp Basic | Free membership | $0 | The swag, plus storage at the Basic rates every six months |
| SwagUp Silver, Gold, Platinum | $80, $400, or $800 a month | $960 to $9,600 | The swag itself, plus storage billed every six months |
| Sendoso and Postal | Quote only | Not published | Not published |
Now the number that actually matters. A single $50 gift per person per year costs $500 at ten people, $1,250 at 25, and $2,500 at 50. Four sends a year at $50 costs $2,000, $5,000, and $10,000 at those same headcounts, and that last figure exceeds every annual platform fee in the table above, the most expensive SwagUp tier included. Decide the per-person gift budget first, then pick the cheapest platform that handles the sends you plan.
One trap sits inside the pricing models themselves. Goody charges per sender, Loop & Tie charges per seat and per team, SwagUp charges by membership tier, and SnackNation charges per box. Only the last of those scales with headcount, which means a growing company gets cheaper per person on three of the four and more expensive on one. Work out which curve you are on before you commit to a year.
What happens to the money behind an unopened gift
Some proportion of every gift send is never claimed, and the platforms handle that money in three different ways: credit it back, refund part of it, or say nothing at all. This is the single most overlooked commercial term in the category.
| Platform | What is published about unclaimed gifts | What to do about it |
|---|---|---|
| Loop & Tie | Expired or canceled value returns to the account as credit | Nothing; the policy is stated on the pricing page |
| Gifted.co | Free cancellation within 72 hours, then 75 percent back within two years | Cancel early rather than late, since the haircut is 25 percent |
| Goody | Not stated on the pricing page | Ask before your first large send, and get the answer in writing |
| Snappy | Not stated on the pricing page | Ask what happens to the budget for an unwrapped gift |
| Caroo | Pay-per-gift model with no published unclaimed policy | Confirm the position on undelivered and returned boxes |
| Sendoso and Postal | Quote-only vendors, so terms arrive with the contract | Read the clause before signing, not at renewal |
Claim rates are not a rounding error. A gift sent to a personal email that goes unread, a notification buried in a chat tool, and someone on leave for three weeks all produce the same outcome, and at a hundred sends a year a ten percent gap is real money. Ask two questions of every vendor: how long a gift stays live before it expires, and where the money goes when it does.
Gifts, gift cards, and what the IRS actually says
A gift card to an employee is taxable wages at any amount, while a modest non-cash gift often is not. That single distinction changes what you should send, and it is the reason the gift card option on these platforms is not the convenient default it appears to be.
The practical consequence is that two gifts of identical value get different treatment. A $75 gift card is compensation that runs through payroll with withholding and shows up as imputed income, while a $75 non-cash item given occasionally can qualify as a de minimis fringe benefit. Occasional is the load-bearing word: the exclusion turns on value and frequency together, and a monthly gift to everyone stops looking occasional quickly.
| What you send | How it is generally treated | What that means in practice |
|---|---|---|
| A gift card of any amount | Cash equivalent, never excludable as de minimis | Report it as wages and withhold |
| A low-value non-cash holiday or birthday gift | Listed by the IRS as a de minimis example | Generally not reported, if it stays occasional and modest |
| A high-value item such as a laptop or a television | Too large to be de minimis | Treated as wages at fair market value |
| A tangible length-of-service or safety award | May qualify as an employee achievement award | Deduction capped at $400, or $1,600 for all awards combined |
| Recognition points redeemed into a card | Cash equivalent, same as any gift card | Runs through payroll like the rest of pay |
The achievement award rules are the one place where the form of the gift genuinely changes the math. IRS Publication 15-B limits the employer deduction for awards to any one employee to $400 for awards that are not qualified plan awards, and to $1,600 for all awards combined, including qualified plan awards given under an established written plan that does not favor highly compensated employees. The exclusion does not apply to cash, cash equivalents, gift cards, gift coupons, or gift certificates. An engraved item for ten years of service and a prepaid card for the same milestone are not the same transaction.
Which occasions actually earn a gift
Six occasions carry a gift well, and the difference between them is what the gift is doing rather than what it costs. Sending on all six is a program; sending on one or two well is better than sending on all six badly.
| Occasion | What the gift is doing | Where it goes wrong |
|---|---|---|
| Before day one | Signaling that the arrival was planned for, not improvised | Arriving in week three, which says the opposite |
| Work anniversary | Marking time served, which nothing else in the year does | The same item every year, which reads as a form letter |
| Birthday | Acknowledging the person rather than the employee | Automation with a name merge and no human sentence |
| Holidays | A company-wide thank you with no ranking attached | A gift card, which is the one option that is taxed as pay |
| After a hard stretch | Closing a specific effort while people still remember it | Arriving a month later, once the relief has worn off |
| Life events | Treating people as people at the moments that matter | Applying a policy where a personal note was needed |
The pre-start package is the one I would keep if I could only keep one. It is the only gift on that list where the timing is entirely within your control, it arrives at the moment a new hire is still wondering whether they made the right decision, and it costs the same as a gift that lands in week three and does a fraction of the work.
Running gifting without a platform
Below roughly fifteen people, or a handful of sends a year, a platform buys you very little. The manual version is: pick something, ask for a delivery address in a short form, order it, and put the next date in a shared calendar so it does not get missed.
| What a platform does | The manual equivalent | When the manual version stops working |
|---|---|---|
| Collects the delivery address | A short form the recipient fills in themselves | When colleagues start seeing each other’s home addresses |
| Offers a choice of gifts | Asking, or a short list in a message | When asking spoils the surprise more than it helps |
| Automates birthdays and anniversaries | Recurring calendar entries with an owner | When one milestone gets missed and everyone notices |
| Tracks who received what | A spreadsheet with dates and amounts | When you cannot answer who got what last year |
| Handles international delivery | Ordering locally in that country | Beyond two or three countries, or on the first customs problem |
| Reports spend | The card statement | When the gift budget needs defending in a review |
The trigger to buy is rarely cost, since most of these platforms are free to start. It is the moment gifting depends on one person remembering, because that person goes on vacation and a five-year anniversary passes in silence. Automation, not the catalog, is the thing worth paying for, which is why Gifted.co including it at no cost and Goody gating it behind a quote is the most consequential difference on this page.
The other honest trigger is privacy. Once your team is distributed, somebody has to hold home addresses, and a platform that collects them directly from the recipient keeps that data out of a spreadsheet in a shared drive. For a company building culture across a distributed team, that is worth more than the catalog difference between any two vendors here.
Before you choose a gifting platform
One sequencing point, because gifting is often bought to fix something it cannot reach. A gift lands on top of an experience; it does not create one.
If new hires are chasing paperwork in week one, waiting on system access, or unsure what they are meant to be doing, a welcome box does not repair that impression, it decorates it. The same is true of retention problems concentrated in the first ninety days, which are almost always the result of an arrival that went badly rather than an absence of gifts. Get the first month working, then add the box.
How to choose an employee gifting platform
Five questions, and the first two eliminate most of this list in about ten minutes. None of them is about the catalog, which is the thing every vendor demo leads with.
A closing note on sequencing. Send one round on a free tier before signing anything annual, count how many gifts were actually claimed, and only then decide whether the paid plan solves a problem you have observed rather than one a demo described.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is an employee gifting platform?
The category name covers any tool that handles gift selection, address collection, fulfillment, and tracking on your behalf. You choose a gift or a set of options, enter an email address or a phone number, and the recipient does the rest. It is also sold as corporate gifting software or a swag platform, and the products come in four shapes: send-by-message, curated boxes, branded merchandise with warehousing, and enterprise sending tied to revenue systems.
How much does an employee gifting platform cost?
The platform fee is the small half of the bill, and six of these nine have a route in at no software cost. The paid steps are $20 per sender monthly on Goody Pro, $2,000 a year on Snappy Elevated, $500 or $5,000 on Loop & Tie, $1,398 on Caroo+, and $80 to $800 a month on a SwagUp membership. Sendoso and Postal publish nothing at any tier.
What is the best employee gifting platform for a small business?
For most small teams it comes down to Goody against Gifted.co, and automation settles it. Goody sends by email or text with no address collection on your side and costs nothing on Starter inside the US, UK, and Canada. Gifted.co charges no platform fee, includes campaigns and automations, and publishes what happens to unclaimed gifts. Loop & Tie suits teams wanting expired value back as credit, and Caroo suits physical care packages.
Is there a free employee gifting platform?
Yes, and more than in any comparable category of HR software. Goody Starter is free forever for sending in the US, UK, and Canada, Snappy Essential is listed at $0 a year with delivery to more than 176 countries, Gifted.co has no platform fee, Loop & Tie Free covers one seat, and SwagUp Basic is a free membership. Caroo is a sixth way in, with no subscription and a price per gift. Free software does not make gifting free: you still pay the face value of every gift, and on some plans the shipping too.
Are employee gifts taxable?
Cash-equivalent gifts always are, and high-value items are too; small non-cash gifts usually are not. The IRS treats cash and cash equivalents as never excludable, while listing low-value non-cash holiday gifts as a de minimis example, provided they stay occasional. Tangible length-of-service and safety awards follow separate rules, with the employer deduction capped at $400 outside a qualified plan and $1,600 for all awards combined. Confirm your handling with an accountant.
How is a gifting platform different from employee recognition software?
One sends objects, the other runs a points economy. Gifting is episodic and costs nothing in a month where you send nothing, while recognition is continuous and bills per employee whether or not anybody posts. Points redeem against a catalog and need roughly twenty people before the feed feels alive. A gift needs no critical mass at all, which is why gifting usually comes first in a small company.
Do you need a gifting platform at all?
Under about fifteen people, the manual version works fine. Ask for a delivery address in a short form, order the thing, and keep the dates in a shared calendar with an owner. What a platform buys is address privacy and a record of who received what, plus automation on recurring dates. The real failure of manual gifting is not cost, it is the milestone that quietly passes unmarked.