FirstHR

Employer of Record Australia: 8 Providers Compared

Compare 8 employer of record providers for Australia on published fees, plus superannuation, award pay rules, payroll tax, and the true cost per hire.

Nick Anisimov

Nick Anisimov

FirstHR Founder

Payroll
19 min

Employer of Record in Australia Compared

Eight providers on published fees, what an Australian hire really costs once superannuation, award entitlements, payroll tax, and workers compensation are counted, and the cheaper answer when the person you want is genuinely a contractor

The first Australian quote I ever looked at seemed almost reasonable. Salary, a service fee, and something called superannuation at 12 percent. I mentally added the three, decided it was about the same as a US hire plus a bit, and moved on.

Then the itemized version arrived. Payroll tax charged by the state, not the country. A workers compensation premium set by a different regulator in each state again. Annual leave loading that pays people extra for taking leave. And a redundancy schedule that starts at 4 weeks of pay and climbs from there. None of it was hidden. It just was not in the headline.

This comparison covers eight employer of record providers that can employ someone in Australia, with the published fee for each, and then the part that decides your budget: what Australian employment law actually obliges an employer to pay. It also answers the question that saves the most money, which is whether you need an employer at all.

TL;DR
Employer of record fees for Australia run from $199 to $699 per employee per month in US dollars across the eight providers here. The fee is the small number. Superannuation is 12 percent, contributions now have a 7 business day deadline after each payday, and a modern award can set pay above whatever your contract says.

What an employer of record does in Australia

An employer of record already holds an Australian legal entity and agrees to be the legal employer of your hire, which lets you put someone on the ground in Australia without registering a company there. You choose the person, set the pay, and direct the work. The provider signs the Australian contract and carries the employer obligations.

The split matters because Australian employment law attaches its duties to the employer, and after this arrangement that is not you. Pay as you go withholding, superannuation, award compliance, record keeping, and termination process all become the provider's legal problem, funded by your invoice.

What does not move is anything to do with the working relationship itself. Performance, workload, tools, deadlines, and the decision to end the arrangement stay with you, and they are also the things Australian regulators look at when deciding whether someone is really an employee.

Who does whatYour companyThe provider
Chooses the personYesNo
Signs the employment contractNoYes, under Australian law
Sets salary and roleYesExecutes what you agree
Runs payroll and PAYG withholdingNoYes
Pays superannuation to the employee’s fundNo, you fund itYes, remits it
Registers and pays state payroll taxNoYes, then bills you
Holds workers compensation coverNoYes, per state
Directs the day to day workYesNo
Decides to end the engagementYesExecutes it under Australian rules

One notation point before the numbers start. Provider fees on this page are US dollars, because that is how every one of them publishes. Australian statutory figures are Australian dollars and are written as A$ so the two never get added together by accident.

Do you actually need an EOR for Australia?

Only if the person is genuinely an employee and you have no Australian entity. Those are two separate tests, and a meaningful share of the companies pricing this out fail the first one, which means they are shopping for a product roughly ten times more expensive than the one they need.

Is this person an employee or a genuine contractor?
Australia looks at the real substance of the relationship rather than the label on the paperwork. Set hours, your direction and control, your equipment, no ability to delegate, and no exposure to profit or loss all point to employment. A contractor invoicing against an ABN, working for several clients, and controlling how the work gets done points the other way. Get this wrong in your favor and it is sham contracting, not a filing error.
Does your company already have an Australian entity?
If it does, you do not need an EOR at all. You need Australian payroll, a payroll tax registration in each state where you pay wages, workers compensation cover in each of those states, and Single Touch Payroll reporting to the Australian Taxation Office. That is a bookkeeping purchase rather than an employment one, and several providers here sell payroll-only service from about $29 per employee per month.
Is this one hire or the start of an Australian team?
One or two people almost always favors an EOR, because company formation, a resident director, and ongoing filings cost more in time and obligation than the fees save. A plan to build a team of fifteen in Sydney changes the arithmetic completely and makes entity setup worth pricing from the start rather than migrating into later.
Do you need the person on the ground in Australia at all?
Sometimes the answer is a time zone rather than a country. If the actual requirement is coverage during Australian business hours and the candidate pool is wider than one nation, the compliance bill differs by market and is worth comparing before you commit. If you already have the candidate and they live in Melbourne, that question is settled and this page is the right one.

The classification question is the expensive one, so it is worth being blunt about the downside. Australian penalties are set per contravention, and a pattern of engagements repeats the exposure rather than capping it.

Sham contracting penalties are per contravention
The Fair Work Ombudsman publishes maximum penalties for sham contracting of A$19,800 for an individual, A$99,000 for a business with fewer than 15 employees, and A$495,000 for a business with more than 15 employees, for each contravention. The defense is that the business reasonably believed the worker was a contractor, which is a higher bar than not having thought about it. Source: Fair Work Ombudsman, sham contracting.

If the honest answer is contractor, the right purchase is a contractor management product at $25 to $49 per person per month, not an employment arrangement at twenty times that. If the honest answer is employee, keep reading.

How we evaluated these providers

Is there a published rate, and for which product?
Every fee below was read from the vendor’s own pricing page in September 2026 and is labeled as an employer of record rate rather than merged with payroll-only or contractor pricing. One provider, Rippling, publishes nothing and routes you to a custom quote form instead. That one is marked quote only rather than filled in with a guess.
Is Australia a real operation or a line on a coverage map?
Country counts in this category are marketing numbers. A provider claiming 185 markets is claiming reach, not depth, and the only question that matters is whether it holds its own Australian entity and how many people it currently runs on Australian payroll. Because no vendor publishes that reliably, it is treated here as a question to ask rather than a score to award.
What does the fee exclude?
All of it excludes salary, superannuation, state payroll tax, workers compensation premiums, and award entitlements such as annual leave loading. Those items are Australian law rather than provider policy, so they land on the invoice regardless of which name is at the top of it. The cost section models them separately for that reason.
What happens at the exit rather than the entry?
Onboarding speed is what gets sold and termination cost is what gets remembered. Australian notice and redundancy obligations are set by statute and rise with tenure, so the questions that carry weight here are who calculates them, who funds them, and whether the provider charges anything extra to run the process.

Eight employer of record providers at a glance

Seven of the eight publish a rate, and the published spread is more than three to one. Read the contractor column alongside it, because a mixed Australian team of two employees and four contractors will often be shaped more by that number than by the employer of record fee.

ProviderBest forEOR per monthContractor optionRate publishedCountries claimed
DeelBroad published coverage$599/ee$49/contractor130+ for EOR
RemoteA path off EOR later$699/ee$29/contractor90+
MultiplierLowest full-platform rateFrom $459/ee$40/contractor150+
RemoFirstSmallest budgetsFrom $199/ee$25/contractor185+
Papaya GlobalPayroll depthFrom $499/eeFrom $199/COR180+
Atlas HXMDirect employment modelFrom $599/eeNot published160+
G-PGoverned programsFrom $599/ee$39/contractor180+
RipplingHR, IT, and payroll in oneQuote onlyNot publishedNot published
Platform fees read from vendor pricing pages in September 2026 and quoted in US dollars per employee per month. Country counts are vendor claims, not verified operations, so confirm Australia specifically and ask whether the provider holds its own Australian entity. Figures exclude salary, superannuation, payroll tax, workers compensation, and award entitlements, which are the larger half of the bill.

The eight providers compared

1
Deel
Best when you want a published rate and broad coverage
Pricing
EOR $599 per employee; contractors $49; contractor of record $325
Coverage
Employer of record in 130 or more countries, per the vendor
Best fit
Teams hiring in Australia alongside several other markets

Deel is the reference point in this category, and the reason is transparency rather than price. The rate is on the page, the contractor product is on the page, and a US professional employer organization option sits next to both at $125 per employee per month.

The strategic use for an Australian hire is a mixed team. If you have one employee in Melbourne and four contractors scattered elsewhere, the $49 contractor rate does more for your monthly bill than shaving $100 off the employment fee would. Ask about volume terms, because the published number is a starting position at any provider in this bracket.

Pros
Rate published openly for EOR, contractors, and US co-employment
Coverage claim of 130 or more countries for the employment product specifically
One vendor can hold a mixed team of Australian employees and contractors
Contractor of record option for engagements with classification risk
Cons
Not the cheapest published rate by a wide margin
Entity ownership in Australia is not stated on the pricing page
Currency conversion and country surcharges are separate from the headline
List pricing invites negotiation, which costs time on a single hire
2
Remote
Best when you expect to open an Australian entity later
Pricing
EOR $699 per employee; payroll-only $29; contractors $29
Coverage
Employer of record in 90 or more countries, per the vendor
Best fit
Companies that want a defined path off the EOR without changing vendors

Remote carries the highest published employer of record rate here, and the interesting part of its pricing sits elsewhere: payroll-only service at $29 per employee per month for companies that already own the local entity. That is the product you move onto after you incorporate in Australia.

For a company that expects to reach ten or fifteen Australian staff, buying from a vendor that sells both ends of the journey removes one migration from the plan. You are still paying a premium in the meantime, so the calculation only works if the entity is a real intention rather than a someday.

Pros
Payroll-only product at $29 gives a defined exit from the EOR model
Contractor management at $29 and contractor of record from $325
Published rates across every product line rather than quote-only tiers
Narrower coverage claim, which is at least an honest one
Cons
Highest published employer of record rate in this comparison
Fewest stated countries among the providers here that publish a number
The entity path only pays off if you genuinely intend to incorporate
Australian entity ownership still needs confirming directly
3
Multiplier
Best published rate among the full platforms
Pricing
EOR from $459 per employee billed annually, $499 monthly; contractors $40
Coverage
150 or more countries, per the vendor
Best fit
Small teams that want a full platform without the $599 anchor

Multiplier sits roughly a quarter below the $599 cluster while still presenting as a complete platform rather than a budget tier. On a single Australian hire the $459 annual-contract rate saves about $1,680 a year, which is real money for a company making its first offshore employment decision.

The pricing page leads with an explicit no hidden fees claim next to the number, which is a promise to test in writing rather than a fact to rely on. The Australian question to put to it is what a termination costs to administer, since that is where an unpriced extra would surface.

Pros
Published rate roughly a quarter below the $599 market anchor
Contractor pricing at $40 keeps mixed teams affordable
Coverage claim of 150 or more countries is mid-pack rather than inflated
Full platform positioning rather than a stripped budget tier
Cons
The $459 rate requires an annual contract; monthly billing is $499
Higher Growth tier at $519 annually may be the one you actually need
Published global payroll tier is sold as no entity needed rather than an entity migration path
Entity model in Australia is not disclosed publicly
Still Using Spreadsheets for Onboarding?
Automate documents, training assignments, task management, and track onboarding progress in real time.
See How It Works
4
RemoFirst
Best when the budget decides the answer
Pricing
EOR from $199 per employee; contractors free to manage, $25 to pay
Coverage
185 or more countries, per the vendor
Best fit
First Australian hire at a company where $599 kills the business case

RemoFirst is the cheapest published rate on this page by a factor of three against the top of the range, and its own site frames that against competitors starting at $599. At $199 a single Australian employee costs about $2,388 a year in platform fees rather than $8,388.

The tradeoff at this end of the market is usually depth: a smaller support organization and more reliance on in-country partners rather than owned entities. That distinction matters most when something goes wrong mid-payroll, so ask directly whether Australia is an owned entity or a partner arrangement.

Pros
Lowest published employer of record rate in this comparison
Contractor management free, with payment processing at $25 per person
Broadest stated coverage of any provider on this page
Makes a single Australian hire viable at seed-stage budgets
Cons
Budget tiers in this category typically lean on in-country partners
From $199 means the Australian rate may be quoted higher
Smaller support organization than the $599 cluster
Health insurance and extras are priced separately from the platform fee
5
Papaya Global
Best when payroll reporting depth matters
Pricing
EOR from $499 per employee; contractor of record from $199; payroll from $29
Coverage
180 or more countries, per the vendor
Best fit
Finance teams that want Australian payroll data alongside other markets

Papaya Global sits between the budget tier and the $599 anchor, and its pitch is payments and reporting rather than employment alone. The published stack runs from payroll at $29 for companies with entities, through contractor of record from $199, to employment from $499.

For a company with an Australian hire and a finance function that already reconciles two or three other countries, the consolidation argument is genuine. For a company with exactly one person in Sydney and nothing else offshore, it is paying for a reporting layer with a single row in it.

Pros
Published EOR rate of $499 undercuts the $599 cluster
Payroll-only product at $29 for markets where you own the entity
Contractor of record from $199 for engagements with classification risk
Reporting depth pays off once several countries are in play
Cons
Reporting advantage is wasted on a single Australian hire
Rates are stated as starting points rather than fixed
Positioning skews larger than a first international hire
Australian entity ownership is not published
6
Atlas HXM
Best when a short compliance chain is the priority
Pricing
EOR from $599 per employee; volume terms above five employees
Coverage
160 or more countries with a direct model, per the vendor
Best fit
Regulated work where a partner handoff is hard to justify

Atlas HXM markets itself on direct employment rather than a partner network, which is the distinction that decides who actually answers when an Australian payroll question turns into an Australian payroll problem. Its published rate matches the market anchor at $599.

The pricing page also names volume discounts above five employees, which makes it worth a conversation for a company planning a small Australian team rather than a single hire. Ask the entity question about Australia specifically, because a direct model claimed globally still needs confirming market by market.

Pros
Direct employment positioning rather than a partner chain, per the vendor
Published rate rather than a quote-only process
Volume terms explicitly offered above five employees
Coverage claim of 160 or more countries with a stated model
Cons
Matches the top of the published range at $599
The direct model claim needs confirming for Australia in writing
No published contractor product alongside the employment one
Volume terms are described rather than priced, so the discount needs a conversation
7
G-P
Best when governance and audit support decide the purchase
Pricing
EOR from $599 per employee; contractors $39
Coverage
Employer of record in 180 or more countries, per the vendor
Best fit
Regulated industries with procurement requirements

G-P publishes a starting rate at the $599 market anchor and a contractor product at $39, then routes every buyer to a proposal request for the actual number. That structure tells you something about the intended buyer: this is enterprise procurement, sold against compliance governance rather than a self-serve price.

For a small company hiring one person in Australia, that process is friction with no upside. For a business in a regulated sector where the compliance chain is part of what you are buying and an audit committee will read the contract, the same process is the point.

Pros
Built for governance requirements a self-serve platform will not meet
Enterprise contracting and audit support are standard rather than add-ons
Long-established position in the employer of record category
Proposal process surfaces Australian specifics before you commit
Cons
Starting rate sits at the top of the published range at $599
Every quote still runs through a proposal, so budgeting takes a sales cycle
Process is heavy for a company making one Australian hire
Starting at pricing means the Australian number can land well above $599
8
Rippling
Best when HR, IT, and payroll should share one record
Pricing
Quote only, via a custom quote form
Coverage
Country coverage not published on the pricing page
Best fit
Companies already running Rippling for their US team

Rippling sells a custom quote rather than a rate card, and its distinguishing feature has nothing to do with Australia specifically. It is the single employee record spanning HR, device management, and payroll, which no other vendor on this page offers in the same shape.

That makes it a strong candidate if you already run it for a US team and want an Australian hire on the same system, and a weak one if this is a standalone decision, because you cannot compare a quote against six published rates without first requesting the quote.

Pros
One employee record across HR, device management, and payroll
Natural extension for companies already using it domestically
Custom quoting can reflect a genuinely small deployment
Consolidation removes a system rather than adding one
Cons
No published rate for the employment product
Country coverage is not stated on the pricing page
Weak fit as a standalone purchase for one Australian hire
Quote process delays a simple like-for-like comparison

What an Australian hire actually costs

The platform fee is the smallest line on the invoice. Superannuation at 12 percent, New South Wales payroll tax at 5.45 percent, and leave loading at roughly 1.35 percent of salary already add close to 19 percent before a workers compensation premium or a single dollar of provider fee is counted.

The table below models a single employee on an A$120,000 salary in New South Wales, employed through a provider at the $599 anchor. Every Australian figure in it comes from a government source cited later in this article, and every figure is annual.

Cost lineBasisAnnual amountWho sets it
Base salaryAgreed with the candidateA$120,000You
Superannuation12 percent of qualifying earningsAbout A$14,400Australian Taxation Office
State payroll tax5.45 percent of NSW wages above the thresholdAbout A$6,540Revenue NSW
Workers compensationPremium set by state and industryVariesState regulator
Annual leave loading17.5 percent on 4 weeks, where an award appliesAbout A$1,615The applicable modern award
Platform fee$599 per month in US dollars$7,188The provider

Three things follow from that shape. Superannuation alone is larger than the entire platform fee at every provider on this page that publishes one. Payroll tax is a state charge rather than a federal one, so the same salary costs different amounts in different capitals. And leave loading, at roughly 1.3 percent of salary, is small in isolation but invisible in every headline quote.

Ask for the all-in Australian number, in writing
A quote of $599 per employee per month describes a small fraction of what an Australian hire costs. Ask any provider for a written total employment cost for a specific salary, in a specific state, including superannuation, payroll tax, workers compensation, and any award loading the role attracts. A provider that can produce that in a day is showing you it has run Australian payroll before. One that cannot is telling you something else.

Superannuation and the payday rule

Superannuation is a compulsory employer contribution to the employee's retirement fund, currently 12 percent of qualifying earnings, and it is not negotiable. The Australian Taxation Office super guarantee schedule holds the rate at 12 percent for 2025 to 2026, 2026 to 2027, and every year after, so the long climb through the 2020s has finished.

The timing changed more recently than the rate did. Under Payday Super, contributions must be received by the employee's fund within 7 business days of each payday rather than quarterly, per the ATO's payment deadlines guidance. A first contribution for a new employee or a new fund gets 20 business days.

There is a ceiling on the obligation. The maximum contribution base for 2026 to 2027 is A$270,830 a year, and once qualifying earnings reach it no further super guarantee is owed for that employee for the rest of the year. For most small business hires that limit never binds, but it matters for senior roles.

Superannuation ruleCurrent positionWhy it matters to you
Super guarantee rate12 percent of qualifying earningsBigger than the platform fee on almost any salary
Payment deadlineReceived by the fund within 7 business days of paydayCash leaves your account with each payroll, not quarterly
First contribution for a new hire20 business days after the first paydaySlight relief in the first cycle only
Maximum contribution baseA$270,830 for 2026 to 2027Caps the obligation on senior salaries
Late paymentSuper guarantee charge appliesThe provider owns the liability, you own the invoice

The practical consequence of Payday Super for an employer of record buyer is cash timing rather than compliance. Contributions used to sit with the provider between quarters, and now they move with every pay run, so ask when your funding is due relative to payday and whether any deposit requirement changed with the rule.

Awards, the NES, and why your contract is not the floor

Two instruments set minimum terms in Australia, and a contract cannot undercut either. The National Employment Standards apply to every employee in the national system and cover twelve entitlements including annual leave, personal leave, parental leave, notice, and redundancy pay.

Modern awards sit on top. The Fair Work Ombudsman lists more than 120 of them, each covering an industry or occupation and setting minimum rates, penalty rates, allowances, and conditions above the standards. Award coverage follows the work performed rather than the job title you wrote, which is how a role gets covered when nobody expected it to be.

Where no award and no agreement applies, the floor is the national minimum wage, which the Fair Work Ombudsman states is A$26.44 per hour or A$1,004.90 per week from 1 July 2026. For salaried professional roles that number is rarely the constraint. The award rate usually is.

EntitlementMinimum under Australian lawThe US equivalent, roughly
Annual leave4 weeks paid per year, accruing from day oneNo federal minimum at all
Personal and carer’s leave10 days paid per year, accumulatingNo federal minimum at all
Leave loadingCommonly 17.5 percent where an award appliesNo equivalent
Casual loadingCommonly 25 percent instead of paid leaveNo equivalent
Long service leaveSet by each state, sometimes from 7 yearsNo equivalent
Minimum wageA$26.44 per hour where no award appliesFederal rate plus state minimums

Annual leave and personal leave both accrue from the first day of employment, including through probation, and both roll over rather than expiring. Unused annual leave is paid out when employment ends, with leave loading included where the employee would have received it, which is a real balance-sheet item after a couple of years rather than a rounding error.

The single most useful thing to demand from a provider is the name of the award in writing before the offer goes out. Pay under an award is a legal floor, the Fair Work Ombudsman says most modern awards pay annual leave loading and that a number of them require the higher of a 17.5 percent loading or the weekend penalty rates the employee normally gets, and a back-payment discovered two years later is more expensive than the whole platform fee.

Payroll tax, workers compensation, and long service leave

Australia charges payroll tax at the state level rather than federally, and the rate and threshold both differ by state. Because a provider pools the wages of everyone it employs across all of its clients, it sits far above the threshold already, so the tax reaches your invoice on the first dollar rather than after A$1.2 million of your own wages.

StateRateAnnual thresholdNote
New South Wales5.45 percentA$1.2 millionApplies to wages above the threshold
Victoria4.85 percent metropolitanA$1 million maximum deductionRegional employers pay 1.2125 percent
Queensland4.75 percent to A$6.5 million in wagesA$1.3 million4.95 percent above A$6.5 million

Rates and thresholds for New South Wales come from Revenue NSW, Victoria from the State Revenue Office Victoria, and Queensland from the Queensland Revenue Office. The other states and territories set their own, so the state your hire works in is a budget input rather than an address.

Workers compensation follows the same pattern. The Fair Work Ombudsman states that employers in each state or territory must take out workers compensation insurance and that the laws vary, with a separate regulator in each jurisdiction. Premiums are set by industry classification and wage bill, so an engineering hire and a warehouse hire on the same salary do not cost the same.

Long service leave is the entitlement with no US analogue at all. It comes from state and territory legislation rather than federal law, and those laws set how long someone must work to qualify, in some cases from seven years. It rarely bites on a first hire and it accrues quietly from the start, so it belongs in the model rather than in a surprise.

Ending employment in Australia

Australia is not an at-will jurisdiction, and this is where US employers get the biggest shock. Ending employment requires notice or payment in lieu, may require redundancy pay on a statutory scale, and can be challenged as unfair dismissal at the Fair Work Commission.

Notice and redundancy both scale with tenure. The Fair Work Ombudsman's fact sheet sets both schedules, and the redundancy figures are paid at base rate on top of notice rather than instead of it.

Continuous serviceMinimum noticeRedundancy pay
Less than 1 year1 weekNone
1 to 2 years2 weeks4 weeks
2 to 3 years2 weeks6 weeks
3 to 4 years3 weeks7 weeks
4 to 5 years3 weeks8 weeks
5 to 6 years4 weeks10 weeks
6 to 7 years4 weeks11 weeks
7 to 8 years4 weeks13 weeks
8 to 9 years4 weeks14 weeks
9 to 10 years4 weeks16 weeks
10 years or more4 weeks12 weeks

Employees over 45 who have completed at least two years of service receive an additional week of notice. Redundancy pay does not apply where service is under twelve months, where the dismissal is for serious misconduct, or where the employer is a small business, and that last exemption is the one worth reading twice.

Your provider is not a small business, and that changes two rules
Under the Fair Work Commission, an employee can bring an unfair dismissal claim after six months, or one year where the employer is a small business with fewer than 15 employees. The head count that decides small business status belongs to the legal employer, which in this arrangement is the provider rather than you. So the six month clock applies, and the small business exemption from redundancy pay generally will not. Confirm both points with any provider before you build a probation plan around them.

The high income threshold caps unfair dismissal eligibility for employees who are not covered by an award or agreement, and the Fair Work Commission puts it at A$190,100, adjusted each July. Below that figure, or under any award, the claim route stays open regardless of salary.

Companies Using FirstHR Onboard 3x Faster
Join hundreds of small businesses who transformed their new hire experience.
See It in Action

Labour hire licensing and other local checks

Four Australian jurisdictions license the supply of workers to a host business, and the Victorian Labour Hire Authority states that schemes presently operate in Victoria, Queensland, South Australia, and the Australian Capital Territory. Host businesses do not need a license, but they are expected to engage only licensed providers.

Whether a given employer of record arrangement falls inside a particular scheme depends on that scheme's definitions and exclusions, which differ between the four. This is not a question to answer from a coverage map. Put it to the provider directly and ask for the license number if the answer is yes.

Two smaller checks belong in the same conversation. Ask whether the provider can sponsor a work visa if your candidate needs one, because many cannot and it is not obvious until the offer is out. And ask how intellectual property assignment is handled in the Australian contract, since the provider signs it and your assignment clause only exists if it is in there.

When to open an Australian entity instead

The crossover usually sits between five and fifteen Australian employees, earlier than the equivalent point in most markets because the fee is charged per person while entity costs are largely fixed. Ten people at $599 is roughly $71,880 a year in platform fees alone.

Against that saving sits real work. An Australian company needs a resident director, an ABN, PAYG withholding registration, Single Touch Payroll reporting to the Australian Taxation Office, payroll tax registration in each state where you pay wages, and a workers compensation policy in each of those states as well. None of that is exotic, and all of it is ongoing.

The migration itself is the part people underestimate. Moving an employee off an employer of record is a termination and a rehire, because the provider is the legal employer, so continuity of service, accrued leave balances, and probation all need explicit handling. Start the analysis at five employees rather than at fifteen, because deciding at fifteen means paying at twenty-five while the entity is set up.

How to vet a provider for Australia specifically

Country coverage numbers are marketing. Six questions separate a provider that genuinely employs people in Australia from one that will go looking for a partner after you sign.

Do you hold your own Australian entity, and how many people do you employ here?
Ask about Australia, not coverage in general. An owned entity means the provider controls the compliance chain and can resolve a payroll problem directly. A partner adds a handoff that only becomes visible when something breaks. Partner delivery is not disqualifying, but you should know which one you are buying, and a provider running hundreds of Australian employees has already solved most of what Australia produces.
Which modern award covers this role, and what does it require?
Get the award named in writing before the offer goes out, along with the minimum rate, any penalty rates, and whether annual leave loading applies. Award coverage follows the work rather than the title, so a provider that answers this quickly has done it before. One that says an award probably does not apply, without naming the reasoning, is guessing on your behalf.
What is the total monthly cost for this salary in this state?
Ask for one written figure covering salary, superannuation, state payroll tax, workers compensation, leave loading, the platform fee, and any currency spread. Payroll tax and workers compensation both vary by state, so the answer must name the state. A provider that publishes pricing can usually produce this within a day.
What happens if we end the employment in month four?
Who calculates notice under the statutory schedule, who administers the process, who funds the payment, and what the provider charges to run it. Ask specifically whether the small business exemptions apply given that the provider is the legal employer, and whether an unfair dismissal claim would be defended by them or by you.
Are you licensed where labour hire licensing applies?
Schemes operate in Victoria, Queensland, South Australia, and the Australian Capital Territory, and hosts are expected to engage licensed providers. Ask whether the provider considers the arrangement to be covered in the state where your employee works, and if so, ask for the license number rather than a reassurance.
Can we move this employee to our own entity later, and what does that cost?
Most companies that reach ten Australian staff eventually incorporate. Ask whether the provider supports that transfer, whether a minimum term blocks it, how accrued leave and continuity of service are handled, and whether they sell a payroll-only product you could move onto. A provider selling both ends of that journey makes the transition considerably easier.

Two answers should end the conversation. A provider that will not say whether it holds an Australian entity is usually relying on a partner it has not yet secured. And a provider that will not put the all-in monthly Australian cost in writing before signature will not become more forthcoming afterwards.

Which provider fits which situation

Routing by situation rather than naming one winner, because the right answer changes with headcount, budget, and whether an Australian entity is in your plans.

If this is youStart withBecause
The person is genuinely a contractorContractor management, not an EORA tenth of the cost for the right product
First Australian hire, tight budgetRemoFirst at $199Makes a single hire financially viable
Want a full platform below the anchorMultiplier from $459Roughly a quarter under the $599 cluster
Mixed team of employees and contractorsDeelThe $49 contractor rate shapes the monthly bill
Expect to open an Australian entityRemotePayroll-only at $29 is a defined exit path
Reconciling payroll across several countriesPapaya Global from $499Reporting depth earns its keep at scale
Regulated work, short compliance chainAtlas HXMDirect employment positioning, per the vendor
Procurement and audit requirementsG-PBuilt for governance rather than self-serve
Already running Rippling in the USRipplingOne employee record across HR, IT, and payroll
You already have an Australian entityPayroll-only at about $29EOR pricing is money you do not need to spend

Two of those rows point away from every ranked product on this page, which is deliberate. A genuine contractor and a company that already holds an Australian entity are both better served outside the employer of record category, and a comparison that cannot say so is not worth much.

Before you choose

FirstHR is not an employer of record and does not process payroll in any country. We hold no Australian entity and take on no employer liability. If you are hiring someone in Australia and have no company there, one of the eight providers above is your answer, not us.

This section exists because of a pattern I keep seeing. A good share of the founders who reach this decision turn out to have a US-only team and a single overseas candidate they have not yet made an offer to, or a contractor relationship they were about to convert without needing to. For that reader the sequence is to settle the classification question first, then price the employment product, and this whole comparison can wait a week.

The layer we handle is the one that stays yours whichever route you take. Whoever signs the Australian contract, someone on your side still has to run onboarding, collect and store signed documents, deliver training with completion tracking, and keep employee records that can be found later. That is what FirstHR does for small US teams without a dedicated HR person, at flat pricing of $98 to $198 per month regardless of headcount, alongside whatever employment arrangement you sign.

Key Takeaways
Published employer of record fees for Australia run from $199 to $699 per employee per month in US dollars, and only one of the eight providers here publishes no rate at all.
Superannuation at 12 percent of qualifying earnings is larger than the platform fee on almost any Australian salary, and contributions now have to reach the fund within 7 business days of each payday.
A modern award can set pay, penalty rates, and leave loading above whatever your contract says, and coverage follows the work performed rather than the job title, so get the award named in writing before the offer.
Payroll tax and workers compensation are state charges with different rates and regulators, so New South Wales, Victoria, and Queensland do not cost the same for identical salaries.
Australia is not at-will: notice runs to 4 weeks, redundancy pay reaches 16 weeks at nine years of service, and because the provider is the legal employer the small business exemptions generally do not apply to your hire.
The entity crossover arrives early, usually between five and fifteen Australian employees, so run the arithmetic at five rather than discovering it at twenty.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is an employer of record in Australia?

A provider that holds an Australian entity and becomes the legal employer of your hire, signing the local contract, running payroll, remitting superannuation, and carrying employer obligations under the Fair Work Act, while you keep the selection, the salary decision, and the day to day direction of the work.

How much does an employer of record cost in Australia?

Published rates on this page span $199 to $699 per employee per month in US dollars, with Rippling the only provider quoting privately. That figure covers the service only. Salary, superannuation, payroll tax, workers compensation, and award entitlements sit on top and are the larger part of the bill.

How much superannuation does an employer have to pay in Australia?

Twelve percent of qualifying earnings, held at that level from 2025 to 2026 onward by the Australian Taxation Office schedule. Contributions must reach the fund within 7 business days of payday, or 20 for a first contribution, and the obligation stops once earnings reach A$270,830 in a year.

What is a modern award and does it apply to my hire?

An industry or occupation instrument setting minimum pay and conditions above the National Employment Standards, and the Fair Work Ombudsman lists more than 120. Coverage attaches to the work performed rather than the contract wording, so ask your provider to name the applicable award, and its rates, in writing.

Do I need an employer of record to hire a contractor in Australia?

No. A genuine contractor invoices against an ABN and needs contractor payment tooling at $25 to $49 per person per month instead. The risk is calling an employee a contractor, which carries sham contracting penalties of up to A$495,000 per contravention for a larger business.

Can I be sued for unfair dismissal if my hire is employed by the EOR?

The claim names the provider, but you fund the result. Eligibility begins after six months of employment, or twelve where the employer is a small business under 15 people. Since the provider is the employer, that exemption rarely helps, so plan on the six month figure.

What does it cost to make someone redundant in Australia?

Notice runs from 1 week to 4 weeks depending on tenure, with an extra week for employees over 45 with two years of service. Redundancy pay is separate and paid at base rate: 4 weeks after a year, 10 weeks at five years, 16 weeks at nine, and 12 weeks from ten years onward.

When should I open an Australian entity instead of using an EOR?

Typically between five and fifteen Australian employees. Ten people at $599 monthly is around $71,880 a year in fees, against a resident director, tax registrations, state-by-state payroll tax and workers compensation, and a transfer that legally counts as a rehire rather than a migration.

Ready to transform your onboarding?

7-day free trial No credit card required
Start Your Free Trial